This page provides a list of surnames that are associated with the ancestors, descendents and relatives of Dr. James Francis Kelly Jr. and Loretta Marie McGovern.  In addition, some information about the history of the Kelly and McGovern surnames (which I gleaned from other websites).

The following surnames are associated with our family...
Barnes, Best, Boyle, Bruce, Buchanan, Burke, Ciancia, Cummings, Dahm, Davidson, Dunn, Fanelli, Foresti, Getz, Greenwood, Hansen, Harrigan, Hauck, Henry, Hostler, Jamison, Johnson, Jordan, Juhas, Juric, Kearney, Kelly, Kurz, LeBon, Madden, Madrigal, Margolin, McDevitt, McGovern, McLaughlin, Melnik, Morelli, Morio, Murphy, O'Connor, O'Donnell, Pasternak, Paxson, Person, Pilgrim, Regallo, Richmond, Robinson, Rosen, Rucker, Sadowski, Scott, Sherlock, Sigg, Smith, Statts, Tomlinson, Urban, Wozniak, Wysocki.


Kelly comes from the Irish Ó Ceallaigh, based on the popular personal name Ceallach, which may mean either "bright-haired" or "troublesome".  The popularity of the name meant that it was incorporated into permanent surnames in between seven and ten different places, including Co. Meath, north Wicklow, the Antrim/Derry area, Co. Sligo, Galway/Roscommon, north Down and Co. Laois.  The most prominent of these families are the O'Kellys of Uí Maine, or Hy Many, an ancient territory taking in east Galway and south Roscommon, also known simply as "O'Kelly's Country".  Their pedigree takes them back to Maine Mor, first chief of the area bearing his name, who lived in the fifth century.  His descendant, Ceallach, (died c.874) was the twelfth Chief, and it is from him that the surname derives.  His great-great-grandson Tadhg Mór, who died at the battle of Clontarf in 1014, was the first to use the name in true hereditary fashion.  Despite the loss of most of their possessions in the catastrophic wars of the seventeenth century, a loss shared with most of the rest of the Gaelic aristocracy, the succession to the position of head of the sept has continued unbroken down to the present incumbent, Walter Lionel O'Kelly of Gallagh and Tycooly, Count of the Holy Roman Empire, known as "The O'Kelly", and recognised as such by the Chief Herald of Ireland Today, Kelly and O'Kelly are almost as numerous in Ireland as Murphy, and are to be found throughout Ireland.  Individuals of the name have been prominent in all spheres of Irish life. The best-known modern Irish sculptor was Oisin Kelly (1915-1981); Charles E. Kelly (1902-1981) was one of the founders of Dublin Opinion, the most famous satirical magazine to appear in Ireland; James O'Kelly (1845-1916) had a remarkable career as a war correspondent and Member of Parliament .


MacGovern is the phonetic anglicisation of Mag Shamhradhain, from a diminutive of samradh, "summer"; it has also occasionally been anglicised as Summers or Somers.  The name is closely linked with the original homeland where it first arose; in the traditional genealogies, Samhradhan, the eleventh-century gentleman from whom the surname comes, was himself descended from Eochadh, one of the O'Rourkes, who lived in the eighth century.  His name was given to the area of Co. Cavan where the MacGoverns held sway, the barony of Tullyhaw (Teallach Eochaidh) in the north-west of the county.  The particular centres of their power were Bawnaboy, Lissanover, and Ballymagauran.  This last includes an earlier anglicisation of Mag Shamhradhain, "Magauran" or "MacGowran", now much less common than MacGovern.  In the old kingdom of Breffny, the family were highly influential, contributing many clerics to the church.  The "Book of the Magaurans" is a well-known 14th century manuscript of poems, chiefly concerning the family itself.  From Cavan, the name has now spread throughout Connacht and Ulster, and is particularly numerous in the adjoining counties of Fermanagh and Leitrim.  Magauran/McGowran is virtually exclusive to Cavan. George Stanley McGovern, (1922- ), was a well-known American political leader.  He was the Democratic presidential nominee in 1972 and represented South Dakota in the United States House of Representatives (1956-1960) and the United States Senate (1962-1980).  Jack MacGowran (1918-1973) was one of Ireland’s best actors, renowned for his interpretations of the works of Samuel Beckett.  In 1971, he was the first non-American ever to received the New York Critics’ Actor of the Year Award. Eilis McGovern (1955 - ) is one of Ireland’s leading heart surgeons, and the first woman member of the council of the Royal College of Surgeons of Ireland.